Ethics Help

coops90
coops90 Registered Posts: 5 Regular contributor ⭐
I am struggling a little with the Professional Ethics Unit (Old Standards). Help would be much appreciated with the following questions:

You are at a meal when one of the other guest's know that you are an accountant & starts asking about tax issues. What are the ethical issues what actions should be taken?

When placed in a compromising sitiation (i.e. You are on an interviewing panel for a job that a very good friend of your has applied for) - How to deal with the situation? Should you help your friend by providing confidential information? Should you inform your boss about the relationship? Should you be involved in the decision making process to who gets the job?

Comments

• Monsoon
    Monsoon Registered Posts: 4,071 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    1. I hate these questions. I haven't got the foggiest. And, I'm an accountant in practice. I just use common sense, but fail at verbalising it. Sorry.

2. Do not provide confidential info. Yes inform the boss. Up to the boss whether you're involved in the decision making - but if you feel you will be unduly favourable to your friend you should opt out.
  • Monsoon
    Monsoon Registered Posts: 4,071 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Also on 1 - more helpful but less direct answer:

I either say, "Ugh, you want me to talk about work? I'm off duty!" Make light of it and hope they change the subject. I know some practitioners say, "Here's my card, please call in office hours to make an appointment" :lol:

Or, you can offer vague advice but if it sounds in depth then advise they get professional advice as it's too complex to discuss in 2 minutes over dinner.

Potential problems are them relying on your semi-drunk advice I guess!!

I can't verbalise this into ethical issues though. I can't see how ethics comes into it. It's more of a professional standards issue, to my mind.
  • AAT Level 3
    AAT Level 3 Registered Posts: 75 Epic contributor 🐘