Going it alone on level 4 - Which units do I HAVE to enrol for?

alisonm
alisonm Registered Posts: 1 New contributor 🐸
Hi everyone.

I'm about to start level 4 and cash is very tight at the moment (have given up work to look after my baby daughter), so I'm hoping to go it alone as much as possible. I studied the first two levels through Kaplan via distance learning, and didn't use them much, so I'm fairly confident I can do it.

I was under the impression that you do have to enrol with a traning provider to do the assessment-based units as these are marked in-house, while you can go it alone for the CBT tests and do the test as an external student. Am I right in this?

Q1) Could someone please clarify for me which units on level 4 (QCF) are assessment-based and which are basic CBT tests? I can't seem to find this information anywhere.

I'm looking to study:

Financial statements
Budgeting
Financial performance
Internal control and accounting systems (Obviously will have to enrol for this one)

And out of the optional modules:
Business tax
Personal tax (depending on the answer to my next qestion:)

Q2) I also did Credit management and Control at level 3 (diploma based). Does this count towards one of the optional modules, meaning I only have to do Business Tax, or would I still need to do 2 modules?

Would also appreciate comments and advice from anyone going it alone on level 4.

Thanks,

Alison

Comments

• linzip1703
    linzip1703 Registered Posts: 35 Regular contributor ⭐
    Hi
    Financial statements, budgeting and financial performance are all computer based tests.
    Internal Control is a project either work based or simulation given to you by the college - this is then marked by the tutor.
    Business & Personal Tax are both computer based tests.

Ive just finished my level 4 and im waiting on results.
    I did mine through a college.

Hope this helps
  • jenny3549
    jenny3549 Registered Posts: 472 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Hi Alison,