Trainee Accountant Interview

Options
turbo_sammie
turbo_sammie Registered Posts: 51 Regular contributor ⭐
I was recently contacted by an Accountancy firm asking me if I'd like to be interviewed for a Trainee Accountant role (I'd sent them a letter asking about vacancies back in June and they'd retained my details). I jumped at the chance and now have my interview on Monday, and I'm absolutely bricking it! I want this job like I've never wanted anything in my life before, but I'm scared of the interview because I've no accounts work experience (I just have my AAT Level 2 completed) and I'm worried they might ask me all sorts of technical questions that I won't be able to answer because it's not something I've ever done as a job. Does anyone know what sort of questions I might be asked in this sort of interview? Any tips anyone could give me would be much appreciated! :-)

Comments

• Miss_HJ
    Miss_HJ Registered Posts: 91 Regular contributor ⭐
    Options
    Bestr advise is to Google trainee accountant interview questions and practice your answers!! theres some good stuff on the net about this
  • zara5034
    zara5034 Registered Posts: 170 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Options
    Hopefully they won't want you to have a great deal of experience as it's a trainee role. You may be able to highlight where you've done financial duties in previous job roles, I mentioned cashing up tills/banking the cash in my first accounts interview.

You can also bring up skills you have learnt as part of your AAT. Along with the technical skills, they will want to know that you are trustworthy and dedicated, you could mention confidentiality and how you have studied the AAT off your own back.

As per the previous post, it's sometimes worth also googling Interview tips to get all of the basics. Ie where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Best of luck
  • JasonTurbo
    JasonTurbo Registered Posts: 27 Epic contributor 🐘
    Options