Should I gain work experience before Level 3?

Options
I'm about to complete my Level 2 in December but I have no accounting experience, I have read somewhere that I should postpone going onto do Level 3 until I have found an entry level position as I will be over qualified, is this really the case?

I have worked in retail management for the past 8 years but really want to set myself up as a self employed bookkeeper and then possibly go on to become chartered. I really want to get on and complete Level 3 as soon as possible but I don't want to make myself unemployable.

Any other tips on how I can get from Retail Manager to self employed bookkeeper are welcome?

Comments

• ChristianB
    ChristianB Registered Posts: 197 Epic contributor 🐘
    edited October 2014
    Options
    Hi @rjatkinson83

It’s great to get experience in the finance and accounting sector as soon as possible! Many students apply for their first role before, during and after Level 3 so don’t worry about being overqualified.

I’d advise you read these two threads. The first recommends job roles you are suited for after completing Level 2. The second answers the question: Should I look a job while studying AAT, or wait until after?

As for what you do after AAT: Many of our members go on to be self-employed and it’s one of the main advantages of studying with AAT. We have a member in practice (MIP) scheme which you can read about here.

One thing I will mention is that to be a MIP you need to be a full member of AAT (MAAT). To be a full member you need to pass Level 4 and demonstrate that you can meet our work experience criteria. This is why it’s important to get a relevant job in the industry as soon as possible, so you can start to build up your experience portfolio.

Let’s say you got a job in the industry now. By the time you start Level 4, you might already have enough experience to qualify as MAAT so we could process your application as soon as you pass your final Level 4 unit!