Change of career from teaching to accountancy

Hi all,

I am currently a Mathematics teacher looking to change career. I am studying level 2 via distance learning but wanted some opinions really on my next step. I have been doing a lot of research and it seems that its quite difficult to get in to a career of accountancy without any experience. My initial thoughts were to study up to and finish level 3, before I quit teaching and try and find a new career, but I am a bit concerned that as I have a maths degree too, I may be 'overqualified' for the jobs that I will then have to apply for. I just wondered if any one has been in a similar situation or if anyone has any advice? I know I will be taking a massive pay cut initially, but need to try and figure out when the best time to commit to the change will be. Any advice welcome!

Comments

• ChristianB
    ChristianB Registered Posts: 197 Epic contributor 🐘
    Hi @Phoebe_mason25

It’s great to get experience in the finance and accounting sector as soon as possible. Many students apply for their first role before, during and after Level 3 so don’t worry about being overqualified.

The way I see it is that any current qualifications you have as a maths teacher will be a big plus when applying for a new career. Being a teacher is hard work and the skills are defiantly transferable.

Please read this blog post. It's from an ex-maths teacher who decided to study AAT and now owns his own practice.

I’d also advise you read these two threads. The first recommends job roles you are suited for after completing Level 2. The second answers the question: Should I look a job while studying AAT, or wait until after?

Just to give you a bit of advice as to where AAT can take you (forgive me if you know this already!): Many of our members go on to be self-employed and it’s one of the main advantages of studying with AAT. We have a member in practice (MIP) scheme which you can read about here.