Statements or Invoice

anniebabe
anniebabe Registered Posts: 595 Epic contributor 🐘
edited November 2015 in General discussion
Hi Guys

I am currently temping, and having problems changing my way of working to this particular office.
They are using Sage, but everything is filed in Alphabetical order?
Also I am being told I have to pay suppliers off the statement and not a report showing the outstanding accounts and invoices due?
and that I should be ringing all suppliers for statements if we do not have them?
Does anyone else work like this, because I have never worked like that before.
All sage supplier invoices to me should be filed by the sage number allocated on input, and invoices have always before been paid on the invoice/report.

Any input much appreciated.

Comments

• kelsmick
    kelsmick Registered Posts: 89
    Each company has their own way. Personally none of my clients file via a system number either it is all filled alphabetic. There is no right or wrong way on how people file things but i find it is much easier if you are looking for an invoice to just pick up the folder and find it in minutes rather than going to the system, finding the unique number that relates to that invoice then finding it in the folder.

A few companies i worked for prefer to issue payments based on the statements - this ensures any missing invoices have been captured, I have often come across ones that were missing or hadn't been input into the system right i.e credit notes as invoices etc it just makes sure everything matches usually i check the statement on the system then so long as that matches up it wouldn't matter if you used the statement or the report.

I personally don't use sage so for me to have to give everything a unique number then keep a record would just add extra time to doing the work.

It's hard when you've done something one way for a long time, i know i'd be like you if one of my clients wanted things to be filed with unique numbers etc.