Should I use a training provider for Level 2 aat

Options
Hi,

I've recently taken a different direction in my career from working in a bank and am looking to go into accounting. I have some accounting knowledge but for argument sake lets say I have none. I'm looking for some guidance on whether it would be possible for me to learn level 2 without a training provider. My plan would be to buy the books for level 2, study them, not sit any level 2 exams and move on to level 3 with a training provider.

Level 2 will cost me roughly an extra £1000 with a training provider + all exams. From what I hear level 2 isn't required to complete the aat qualification only levels 3 and 4 are.

So my questions would be

1. Could I learn all I need to know from the level 2 books in order to start level 3?
2. What publisher would be best, or will any suffice?
3. Would having level 2 on my CV significantly help me getting an entry level job in accounting?

Thanks.

Comments

• PeterMcArthur
    PeterMcArthur Registered Posts: 12
    Options
    1. Yes, I believe you can. I've bought a Level 2 distance learning course, and I've ended up mostly not bothering with the other materials and just concentrating on the books. As far as I know, if you can pass the Level 2, you have sufficient knowledge to start Level 3.

2. I've never come across anybody recommending one set of textbooks over another.

I'm using Kaplan's books and, frankly, I don't think they're great. Earlier chapters occasionally refer to things that aren't introduced until later. You'll find that things written in one way in one set of answers, and in a slightly different way in another set of answers. But at the end of the day, it's not rocket science. As long as I avoid getting distracted by these issues, I make good progress.