Want to change career to Accountancy - Please advise

Chan110
Chan110 Registered Posts: 17 Dedicated contributor πŸ¦‰
Hi,

I am an IT Professional, have a degree and no experience of Accountancy.
I am thinking of taking redundancy at work and using the time/money to study AND work at junior level in accountancy.

I have looked at several career changing possibilities, but I always liked accountancy and it seems to be something that every organisation requires (boom or bust years).

So, I decided on Accountancy - but not know which route to take.
ACCA to chartered accountancy looks very expensive (self-funding) and does not seem to vocational for me to work and study at the same time (pls correct me if I have mistaken).

AAT seems more practical and more vocational - but I would need to start at Level 1.

I would like to:
1. Start studying online/distance (same thing?) whilst I am still at my current employment
2. Hopefully when I get laid-off, I would have one AAT qualification under my belt which would enable me to apply for a junior role in accountancy
3. Whilst I am at my junior role to continue my AAT until I reach MAAT
4. Hopefuly after a few more years I can acheive Chartered status.

It would be great if I can have some reality-check feedback (on above) and advice on the accountancy route:
1. Is the above do-able?
2. What is the best way to get into Accountancy career from scratch?
3. I would love to hear from those with similar background to me (change careers mid-way)!
4. I am still confused on the AAT route (NVQ/Diploma)?!!!
5. And can someone recommend the BEST and/or CHEAPEST place for online/distance learning?!!!
6 And er, if I can get some honest opinion on the pros and cons of starting in accountancy in today's current climate!

Many thks!

Comments

• louby
    louby Registered Posts: 8 Regular contributor ⭐