Workings for AAT online tests?

BradleyClaridge
BradleyClaridge Registered Posts: 30
I wish the AAT would put their workings out for the online tests on their website, I'm currently doing a question on capital gains tax and can't work out how they got their answer! Is their away they could put a step by step guide on how to work out the answers on the sample assessment answers document, so students can check their figures to make sure they are on the right path.

Is their away this could be done? It can be very frustrating trying to figure out how they got their answers.

Thanks
Bradley
I'm currently studying AAT Level 4! as part of my Finance Apprenticeship

Comments

• AAT_Team
    AAT_Team Administrator Posts: 502 🤖 Admin 🤖
    Hi @BradleyClaridge - unfortunately we can't do this. The AAT Sample Assessments are not supposed to be used for learning the course material. They are designed to be used at the end of your studying, during your revision phase, just to give you a taster of what the assessments look like. Please contact your training provider if you need help with understanding the course syllabus or for help with particular questions.
  • AlisonSwanson
    AlisonSwanson Registered, Tutor Posts: 209
    Hi Bradley Claridge I'm a tutor and have been asking this for years. Despite the standard AAT response that 'practice assessments are not supposed to help you learn', of course students are going to use them as a learning tool and want to know how to get to the expected answers. It is extremely time consuming for tutors to have to create their own model answers for all AAT practice assessments.
    We have swapped to Kapkan books this year who do provide workings and explanations for their practice assessments ( although there are lots of typos) and for some of the AAT practice assessments.
    The AAT used to provide workings for the old paper based exams so I'm sure they could do it for the practice assessments - PLEASE!!
  • kt82