What's the Point?

edwalford
edwalford Registered Posts: 5
Hi all,

I'm really struggling with my motivation at the moment, almost on the verge of packing it all in. It all seems pointless to be honest.

I'm already late into accounting (I only started studying 3 years ago and i'm in my mid-thirties) and I'm finding that all the jobs i'm applying for seem to want either a graduate or someone who is already qualified or mostly do not even bother replying at all because they are advertised through agencies who are quite frankly useless (there are far too many people applying for jobs and competition is so fierce).

So with age against me, and so many people after accounts roles, it seems, at times, as if there is no point carrying on with AAT as it won't lead anywhere.

Just wondering if anyone else had any similar thoughts?

Thanks

Ed

Comments

• richie
    richie Registered Posts: 1
    Mate the worst thing you can do is quit ............ carry on with your AAT studies as I know people 40+ who are just starting. Once completed you can be a self employed bookkeep etc or do whatever you what to do with the qualifications basically. Also there always a job out there for you just persevere and the right one with the right money will turn up :). DONT GIVE UP
  • Tumie
    Tumie Registered Posts: 2
    I've also had thoughts of quitting countless! times before.. because I've failed a couple of my exams! But I didn't give up because AAT has great opportunities. And I've come this far so why not finish what I've already started.. So you really aren't alone... Its challenging yes! But the reward will be so much better.
    Age shouldn't keep you from pursuing the things you want to do... Even if you were 50 you'd still be worthy of a degree. The fact that you started means you are ahead of most people who only dream of a degree but aren't taking the steps that you've already took to get qualified and start your career. So DON'T GIVE UP!

• WarrenJAllen