Self-learning from books / without training provider (Bookkeeping) ... advice / software

Hi, I have completed the Foundation Certificate Level 2 and Foundation Cert if Accounting - Using Accounting Software ...both of which I used a Training Provider. However, actually learnt most of it via Kaplan books, internet and AAT website. My question is that I intend to 'try' and do The Advanced Bookkeeping qualification just via the Kaplan books (bought online). Has anyone out there done this without a training provider? If so what software did you buy? I have Sage ONE via the training provider but that will expire shortly, so will need to purchase a new one? I was going to get Quickbooks as once qualified like to the look of this?
So anyone out there self-taught? Without a training provider? Any advice? And any advice which software to use when training?
Any advise fullstop would be apprciated. :) Thanks

Comments

• Agnes123
    Agnes123 Registered Posts: 40
    I've done level 3 aat last year of which first 3 exams qualify as the advanced bookkeeping qualification. I just bought kaplan books, self studied at home at took the tests. There was no other software needed, apart from excel for the synoptic exam. Good luck!
  • blk71
    blk71 Registered Posts: 4
    Hi Agnes123. Thank you for your response. The books have arrived so I will see how I get on without a training provider. There seems so much support out there, especially on the AAT site so fingers crossed :)
  • Agnes123
    Agnes123 Registered Posts: 40
    Good luck, I'm sure you'll be alright.
  • Ellas998
    Ellas998 Registered Posts: 1