Sage 50cloud Accounts v Quickbooks

Options
Catrinpw
Catrinpw Registered Posts: 2
I am employed to provide Finance Management and Administration to 4 companies and I am currently using Sage 50 Accounts Professional, 4 companies, 2 users. I have been using Sage since 2006 and have not really used any other accounting software.
1 company is VAT registered another is a retail shop which has stock control and a compatible till system. The two other companies are straight forward no VAT and no stock.
The company used to upgrade the software every 4 to 5 years.
I am seeking advice on the software options and pro’s and con’s with regards to Sage 50cloud Accounts v QuickBooks.
Our current till software is compatible with Sage but not QuickBooks, therefore would need to consider new software if we do move from Sage.
The upgrade to Sage 50c is now subscription based and is quite expensive compared to QuickBooks. However, with no previous experience of QuickBooks, the initial test version I have worked on seems to be a completely different way of working to Sage.
Any advice and recommendation would be greatly accepted.
Many thanks
Catrin

Comments

• cjordan422
    cjordan422 Registered Posts: 3
    Options
    Hi Catrin, this is a hard one . We have also always used Sage but now also use Quick Books. Both have their good/ bad points. In my opinion Sage is better for accountants to use and Quick Books is better if the client is at all involved in doing any of their own bookkeeping. I also think that by a client using Quick Books themselves it can bring about ‘a little knowledge is a dangerous thing’As it is so user friendly , clients soon seem to get over confident and think there is no need for our services but when reviewing their work there are fundamental errors that only a trained accountant would possibly know .This leads to a lot of alterations which can take a lot of time which then causes problems when the recharge to the client is made.