General AAT

datkins91
datkins91 Registered Posts: 3 New contributor 🐸
Next week I start my AAT studies and am quite looking forward to it. However, I just wanted to ask about the employability that having the AAT qualification will make me. I have no experience in accounting what-so-ever and only have my A-Levels. Will completing the AAT make me substantially more employable? How difficult will I still find it in securing a job?

Also, any of those who are AAT qualified and won't be studying towards chartered accountancy, what are you reasons for deciding to just stay with AAT and not go any further?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Becky V
    Becky V Registered Posts: 374 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    datkins91 wrote: »
    Next week I start my AAT studies and am quite looking forward to it. However, I just wanted to ask about the employability that having the AAT qualification will make me. I have no experience in accounting what-so-ever and only have my A-Levels. Will completing the AAT make me substantially more employable? How difficult will I still find it in securing a job?

Also, any of those who are AAT qualified and won't be studying towards chartered accountancy, what are you reasons for deciding to just stay with AAT and not go any further?

Thanks in advance!

Hi welcome to the forums. I think with the employment i really think it is luck as so many on here havent found a job in accounts. As for me i was very lucky to find the perfect job within an accounts setting before any experience. I am now studying the level 4 in AAT but dont want to study anymore after that for the time being as im happy in my job and dont feel the need to. I found my job by ringing around all local accountants to see if anyone would take me on to give me experience and for me to see if this was what i wanted. Are you starting at the foundation stage? Good luck with your studies!
  • keane155
    keane155 Registered Posts: 404 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Hi datkins91,