Advise please

MILLY21
MILLY21 Registered Posts: 59 Regular contributor ā­
Hi everyone, I'm afraid I have lost my way a bit here and hope one of you good people will help pick me up and dust me down.

I have completely Technican stage but cannt register MAAT/apply for MIP due to the fact that my project has not beend signed off so I'm a little in limbo. PLan is to go onto CIMA next year once I have the dosh to pay for it.

If I set up with licence/insruance ect does anyone know if I can still practive whilst studying CIMA? I understand if you were to do ACCA this is not allowed. Does anyone know please?

The other thing is I have been working in accounts/payroll for 15 years but I have never completed returns for self employed people/sole traders. I would like to do this as a second job if possible but of course I would need to have the relevant skills. We did not do personal taxation unit during our technician course.

I have been approached by a family friend who is working full time but is starting her own beautician business to run along side and wants my help. My sister in law has offered to do this work for me (she is chartered and all singing all dancing of course) to show me how to do this them, eventually when I become competant I can (CIMA willing of course) carry on and get more clients.

So basically whats would you advise? Should I obtain the course notes and book for personal taxation, familiarise myself with the process and watch and learn? In the mean time this friend has established all things necessary to start off her business, even attended a book keeping course so she has all the relevant bank accounts ect. She is currently training so will not be performing paid duties for a couple of months.

I told you I had lost my way, feel a bit of an idiot now putting this into print

Looking forward to any comments
Ā«13

Comments

• Thomasl1
    Thomasl1 Registered Posts: 43 Regular contributor ā­